Countdown Widget

Join Us
May 23, 2018

2018/05/23 18:00:00

The A. Leon Higginbotham Corporate Leadership Award is named in honor of Judge A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., a pioneering civil rights advocate, author and federal appeals court judge. In 2000, the Lawyers’ Committee established the Higginbotham Award to recognize exemplary corporate leadership with respect to advancing diversity and equal opportunity – particularly leadership in recruiting, retaining and promoting minorities in the workplace.

The annual presentation of the Higginbotham Award encourages corporations to reflect in their business and charitable practices the spirit of equal opportunity embodied in our constitutional democracy. The Higginbotham Dinner is one of the largest gala events in the civil rights community, attracting nearly 1,000 attendees annually. To learn more about Judge Higginbotham click here.


Wednesday, May 23rd, Cipriani (42nd Street) New York, NY — Black-tie optional

  • 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM VIP Reception (by invitation only)
  • 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM General Reception
  • 7:00 PM – 9:30 PM Higginbotham Dinner


2018 PNC and Chairman, President and CEO, William S. Demchak
2017 The Home Depot and Chairman, CEO and President Craig Menear
2016 Ernst & Young LLP and Chairman and Managing Partner, Stephen R. Howe, Jr.
2015 Toyota Motor Sales and CEO, James Lentz
2014 William D. Zabel, Founding Partner, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP
2013 J.P. Morgan Chase & Co-CEO of the Corporate and Investment Bank
Mike Cavanagh
2012 DuPont and Chair of the Board and CEO Ellen Kullman
2011 McDonald’s Corporation and Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jim Skinner
2010 Qualcomm Incorporated and CEO, Dr. Paul Jacobs
2009 Microsoft Corporation and CEO, Steve Ballmer

2008 Earl G. Graves, Sr., Founder and Publisher of Black Enterprise Magazine
2007 Colgate-Palmolive and CEO Reuben Mark and
Aetna Inc. and CEO, Ronald A. Williams
2006 Citigroup, Inc. and CEO, Charles Prince
2005 General Electric Company and Chairman and CEO, Jeffrey R. Immelt
2004 BellSouth Corporation and Chairman and CEO, F. Duane Ackerman
2003 PepsiCo Inc and CEO, Steven S Reinemund and
Fannie Mae and CEO, Franklin D. Raines
2002 United Parcel Service and CEO, Michael L. Eskew
2001 The New York Times Company and CEO, Arthur Sulzberger, Jr.
2000 AOL Time Warner and CEO, Gerald M. Levin